By Annika Johnson on SwimSwam

SEC- Women’s Swimming& Diving+ Men’s Diving

Wednesday, February 17- Saturday, February 20,2021 W Swimming: Gabrielson Natatorium- Athens, GA( Eastern Zone) W&M Diving: Mizzou Aqutics Center- Columbia, MO( Central Time Zone) Defending Champion: Tennessee( 1x)( 2020 ensues) Live outcomes Live Video- SEC Network Championship Central Psych Sheet

The University of Kentucky has won its first-ever SEC Championships title after 40 years of women’s swimming in the SEC Conference. Tonight, their succes was by a margin of 149 points over the University of Georgia. The fight supporters, Tennessee, arranged 4th.

Head coach Lars Jorgenson was not present at the start of the assemble on Wednesday because of a positive COVID test last week, but he arrived in time to see the team win the SEC Championship title on Saturday.

And that’s a sign of the season. In 2021, the teams that come out on the top are going to be the teams that best-managed the challenges presented by the world-wide coronavirus pandemic. Florida entered the meet without star freestyler Leah Braswell, and on a final perimeter of 53 points, that could have been enough to swing the final outcome of the meet.

But you don’t get items for who does come, very for those who show up. And Kentucky pictured up in a big way this week in Athens.

Final Scores

1. Kentucky: 1124 2. Florida: 1071 3. Georgia: 999 4. Alabama: 973 5. Tennessee: 934 6. Texas A& M: 839 7. Missouri: 614.5 8. Arkansas: 595 9. Auburn: 510 10. LSU: 390.5 11. South Carolina: 276 12. Vanderbilt: 154

Kentucky after prevailing the 2021 SEC Championships, courtesy of SEC

As the satisfy went on, the Wildcat were blowing wind into a turbine, construct what turned out to be an unstoppable amount of momentum. They demonstrated a narrow-minded make of 2 points over Alabama on epoch 1. Thursday was their most challenging day as they dissolved the finals session in 5th locate, although 2nd through 5th were separated by exactly 22 degrees.

After day 3, Florida and Kentucky separated themselves from the rest of the pack, in first and 3rd respectively, with an 8 place difference between them. Guiding Kentucky’s drive on date 3 was Lauren Poole and Gillian Davey in the 400 IM, finishing 1-2, Izzy Gati placing 3rd in the 100 fly, Riley Gaines victory the 200 free, Caitlin Brooks scoring 3rd residence in the 100 back, and the Kentucky 400 potpourrus cracking the top 3.

Saturday was no different for the Wildcat who finished 2-3 in the 200 back( Sophie Sorenson and Brooks) and 2nd in the 200 tit( Davey .) Going into the relay, Kentucky had already established a 103 spot induce over the University of Florida.

The Wildcats achieved this victory both with swimmers who arrived on their campus as hotshots, like Sorenson who became the Iowa nation record purchaser in the 100 ground back( 54.61 ), alongside swimmers who they trained into becoming whizs. For instance, last year Poole finished 13 th in the 200 breast and 24 th in the 400 IM. Brooks finished 15 th in the 100 fly last year and now has climbed up to 9th with a brand-new period best.

Another major source of Kentucky’s lead was the fact that they had given “the worlds largest” distinguishes in the finals conference on Friday and Saturday with 17 and 18 swimmers in the finals hots, respectively. Now is a breakdown of how many points were valued by swimmers from each school in individual happenings 😛 TAGEND INDIVIDUAL SCORES BY YEAR

Credit to Andrew Mering for running the numbers.


FR 95.5 SO 284 JR 367.5 SR 114 Returning 747

The majority of Kentucky’s stages came from their junior class, while their major and rookie castes tallied the least. This means that the majority of the top point-scorers are likely to be returning for the 2021 -2 022 season and can garner major points for the team again. Same to Kentucky was Alabama, whose elderly class orchestrated 30 out of their 657 total points.

Got your biggest team…


— Kentucky Swim& Dive (@ UKSwimDive) February 21, 2021

Read the full storey on SwimSwam: Kentucky Wins Their First-Ever SEC Championships Title

Read more: