The magnificent, generation-defining Broadway phenomenon becomes a soaring cinematic happening as Tony, Grammy and Emmy Award winner Ben Platt reprises his role as an watchful, isolated high schooler aching for understanding and belonging amid the chaos and savagery of the social-media age.

Directed by acclaimed filmmaker Stephen Chbosky( The Perks of Being A Wallflower, Wonder ), the film is written for the screen by the show’s Tony winner Steven Levenson with music and poetics by the show’s Oscar( r ), Grammy and Tony-winning songwriting team of Benj Pasek& Justin Paul( La La Land, The Greatest Showman ).

Featuring Grammy victory ballads, includes the iconic anthem “You Will Be Found, ” “Waving Through a Window, ” “For Forever” and “Words Fail, ” Dear Evan Hansen performs six-time Oscar( r) nominee Amy Adams, Oscar( r) champion Julianne Moore, Kaitlyn Dever( Booksmart ), Amandla Stenberg( The Hate U Give ), Colton Ryan( Apple TV+ ’s Little Voice ), Nik Dodani( Netflix’s Atypical ), DeMarius Copes( Broadway’s Mean Girls) and Danny Pino( NBC’s Law& Order: Special Victims Measurement ).

Dear Evan Hansen are generated by Marc Platt( La La Land, Into the Woods, Mary Poppins Returns) and Adam Siegel( 2 Guns, Drive ), and is executive produced by Michael Bederman, Steven Levenson, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul. Universal Pictures will administer the film in all provinces.

Read more: